Cake Pops!

 

My first cake pops! They were brownies inside and vanilla candy melts on the outside. I made them with my new cake pop machine I bought at Kohls. I used brownie cake mix and substituted the eggs and oil with a can of low sodium black beans, it’s the healthier option I got from my friend who’s majoring in nutrition. No one could believe they were made with black beans, they tasted like regular brownies.

These are the ones I took to my brother and sister in law’s Christmas party, again no one could believe they were made with black beans.

These were yellow cake and I melted peppermint Andes to cover them. They came out great, very tasty!

I didn’t have anymore Andes or candy melts, so I melted some Malibu rum chocolates I had. Couldn’t taste the rum, so they were ok, not great.

This is what they look like when they are ready in my cake pop machine. So much easier than baking a cake and then crumbling it up and adding frosting to make the balls, a lot less sweet too which is good.

Here I was making my first vegan cake pops for my cousin’s son’s birthday, she and her sister are both vegan. They were key lime cake pops. I will try to make these again in the future and candy coat them because that time I didn’t. The original recipe called for cupcakes, but I made them into cake pops. Here is the original recipe:

Key Lime Cupcakes (makes 12)
Ingredients

  • 1 oz key lime juice (2Tab) or the juice of one regular lime
  • zest from 1 lime
  • 7/8 cup of soy milk
  • 1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 Tablespoons cornstarch
  • ¾ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • ¾ cup evaporated cane sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees and line a muffin tin with cupcake liners.
With a microplane, zest one lime and set aside. Juice lime and place in a 1 cup measuring cup. You
should have approx 1 oz. Fill cup to 1 cup mark with full fat soy milk. Stir to blend and set aside for
several minutes (it will thicken). Mix in lime zest
In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda and cornstarch, then whisk in kosher
salt (kosher salt won’t go through sifter)… I use a mesh strainer rather than an old fashion sifter…
In a large bowl, whisk lime/soy milk with sugar, canola oil and vanilla. Slowly mix in flour mixture a little at
a time until no lumps appear. Do not over-mix.
Using a scoop, fill cupcake liners ¾ full. Place on center rack in oven for 20 minutes. Cupcakes will have
a nice golden edge. Cool completely on a wire rack.

Credits to Articles of Du’in It in the Kitchen

https://www.duinitinthekitchen.com

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

