Better White Zinfandel Cupcakes

 

The end result of my second try making white Zinfandel cupcakes, much better texture. They were moist because I added a cup of milk apart from the white zin, I could smell it when they were baking. House smelled like booze 🙂 This was not the original frosting I was going to use, but I suck at making frosting and the one I was following came out runny.

20120329-143601.jpg

20120329-145017.jpg

The batter was pink cause I had added color to it, but clearly not enough as you can see from the picture.

20120329-145449.jpg

I added more color to the little bit of batter I had left and these did come out pink.

20120329-145835.jpg

Made a total of 17 cupcakes.

20120329-150301.jpg

This was the failed frosting before I added the white Zinfandel, should have left it like that.

20120329-150444.jpg

This was after I added the white zin, DISASTER! It actually didn’t taste bad and complimented the cupcake, but so runny.

20120329-150823.jpg

So I used what I had previously used as frosting which is actually for parfaits. A package (8oz) of cream cheese and marshmallow creme (7oz). I added color to make it pink and just one teaspoon of white Zinfandel because I didn’t want to make it runny.

20120329-151441.jpg

This is the original recipe, but I used regular butter, did a cup of soy milk instead of water, added a cup of white zin and 1/4 cup of ground flax seed for nutritional purposes.

Vegan White Cake
• 2 Cups Cake Flour
• 3/4 Cup Sugar
• 1/2 Teaspoon Salt
• 1 Teaspoon Baking Powder
• 1/2 Teaspoon Baking Soda
• 1 Cup Water
• 2 Tablespoons Melted Light Vegan Butter
• 2 Tablespoons Canola Oil
• 1 Teaspoon Clear Vanilla
• 1 Teaspoon Lemon Juice

Directions
Prepare your cupcake pans with paper cups and preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a mixing bowl add dry ingredients: flour, sugar, salt, baking soda and powder. Stir together. Next, in a separate small mixing bowl combine the wet ingredients: water, butter, oil, vanilla, lemon juice. Stir the wet ingredients together. Now pour the wet ingredients into the mixing bowl with the dry. Take special care not to over mix the ingredients. DO NOT use an electric mixer. Stir it with a big spoon and stir slowly until ingredients are well combined with a few lumps.

Pour the cake batter into the cupcake wells, filling them 3/4 the way. Place into oven and cook 20 to 25 minutes or until a tooth pick can be inserted in the middle and it comes out clean. After they are out of the oven let cool for 30 minutes before icing them.

Adapted from My Vegan Cookbook

20120329-151509.jpg

I had enough leftover to make two parfaits with strawberries and blueberries.

20120329-151637.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

