Maple Carrot Cupcakes and Mini Cake!

I was hoping to make maple carrot cupcakes for Easter, but I ended up staying at my cousin’s house all weekend helping look for furniture for my other cousin’s new place, her sister. We did some major Ikea shopping, 6 carts full. I built a bed with her 🙂 I love building! So I did them the day after, Easter Monday.

20120410-131315.jpg

20120410-131547.jpg

20120410-131624.jpg

Recipe was for 18 cupcakes, I had enough for 12 regular size cupcakes, 12 mini cupcakes and a mini cake. I was so happy to use my new frosting tip, they look so much better now!

20120410-132148.jpg

The recipe called for 3 cups of grated carrots, omg I got a workout grating them, my arms were hurting and I was already sore from carrying heavy things and building the bed the day before. They smelled so good in the oven.

20120410-132113.jpg

20120410-132928.jpg

Look at that beauty! Love that new tip, I’ve been missing out.

20120410-133411.jpg

20120410-133449.jpg

I got to use my mini cupcake pan for the first time, they are so small! They were all iced with maple cream cheese frosting.

20120410-134039.jpg

My mini cake came out cute. I should have cut it in 2 layers to add the frosting as filling. The recipe was with 1/2 cup maple syrup, but I barely had 1/4 cup so I improvised and used caramel syrup, I just used less cause it’s very sweet. The frosting also called for it and I used the caramel syrup also, they came out pretty good.

Ingredients:
• 2 cups all-purpose flour
• 1 cup sugar
• 1 teaspoon baking powder
• 1 teaspoon baking soda
• 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
• 1/2 teaspoon salt
• 4 eggs
• 1 cup canola oil
• 1/2 cup maple syrup
• 3 cups grated carrots (about 6 medium)

Frosting:
• 1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
• 1/4 cup butter, softened
• 1/4 cup maple syrup
• 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
• Chopped walnuts, optional

Directions
In a large bowl, combine the first six ingredients. In another bowl, beat eggs, oil and syrup. Stir into dry ingredients just until moistened. Fold in carrots.
Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups two-thirds full. Bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks.
For frosting, combine the cream cheese, butter, syrup and vanilla in a bowl; beat until smooth. Frost cooled cupcakes. Sprinkle with nuts if desired. Store in the refrigerator. Yield: 1-1/2 dozen.

Adapted from Taste of Home

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Maple Carrot Cupcakes and Mini Cake!

  1. […] Maple carrot cake recipe and frosting […]

Leave a Reply

