Vegan Banana Nut Birthday Cake!

 

 

It was my grandmother’s birthday yesterday the 18 and I decided to make her a banana nut cake. I went for vegan because I didn’t want to use up the eggs we have.

20120418-231824.jpg

20120418-231105.jpg

20120418-231423.jpg

20120418-231449.jpg

It smelled stupendous in the oven and out!

20120418-231630.jpg

I had leftover frosting from the strawberry cupcakes and used it for half of it cause my aunt wanted it, but my mom didn’t. Not bad!

It had so many walnuts, I loved it! Left some unfrosted pieces for my vegan cousin. I used whole wheat flour, brown sugar, almond milk instead of water and added ground flax seed.

Ingredients serves 12
• 2 cups flour (I used whole wheat)
• 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
• 1/2 teaspoon salt
• 1 cup sugar (I used brown sugar)
• 1/4 cup oil
• 4 ripe bananas , mashed (I used 3 large)
• 1/4 cup water (I used 3/4 cup almond milk)
• 1 teaspoon vanilla
I added 1/4 cup ground flax seed

Directions
1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 9×13 inch baking pan.
2. In a small bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, salt and ground flax seed. In a separate large bowl, whisk together the sugar and oil, then add bananas. Add milk and vanilla, stirring to combine.
3. Add the flour mixture, stirring just until wet.
4. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Adapted from Food.com

Frosting from here

20120418-232945.jpg

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Vegan Banana Nut Birthday Cake!

  1. mydearbakes April 19, 2012 at 9:53 am Reply

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe =)
    Going bananas after seeing this post – BIG fan of banana nut cake here =)

    • happyface7 April 19, 2012 at 10:57 pm Reply

      You’re welcome! My vegan cousin tried it today and said she was only going to have a little piece, but when she tried it she took the whole piece. She said it was the best vegan banana nut cake she ever had, her husband enjoyed it very much as well.

  2. […] Recipe […]

  3. […] Vegan banana bread recipe […]

  4. […] Vegan banana recipe […]

  5. […] Original recipe […]

  6. […] Original vegan banana nut bread and muffins recipe […]

Leave a Reply

