“Naked” Vegan Margarita Muffins!

I wanted to make margarita cupcakes for Cinco de Mayo and found a vegan one.

20120504-204036.jpg

Had to take the batter on a little road trip. I was staying over at my brother’s and didn’t finish in time when he came to pick me up so I took it with me to bake over there.

20120504-204310.jpg

Took my muffin tin and liners with me to bake over there. The batter was just enough for 12 standard size cupcakes.

20120504-204508.jpg

They were done very fast, in 21 minutes! Smelled very good.

20120504-204610.jpg

20120504-233350.jpg

They were very moist and delicious! Not enough tequila though, even after adding more than the recipe called for. The recipe said 2 tsp and I added 2 tbsp. The next batter will have more. I used whole wheat flour instead of all purpose because that was all I had.

Margarita Cupcakes
(from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World)

• 1/4 cup lime juice
• 1 1/2 tsp lime zest (1 lime)
• 1 cup soy milk (plain or vanilla)
• 1/4 cup vegetable oil
• 2 tsp tequila
• 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
• 1 cup sugar
• 1 1/3 cup all purpose flour
• 1/4 tsp baking soda
• 1/2 tsp baking powder
• 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350F. Fill a 12-cup muffin tin with liners.
In a large bowl, mix together lime juice, lime zest, soy milk, oil , tequila, vanilla and sugar.
In a small bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Add to lime mixture and stir until just combined. Divide evenly into muffin tins.
Bake for 20-24 minutes, until a tester comes out clean and the cakes spring back when lightly pressed.

Turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely before frosting.

Adapted from HWTM blog

20120504-234909.jpg

The best part is that I have much tequila left over

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

