First Try at a Healthy Smoothie!

My cousin Rebeca is vegan and has been for most of her life and she does presentations about raw food. I went to one of these presentations as her assistant and this smoothie was one of the things she made there.

20120519-204653.jpg

Hers was with half a pear, but all I had were apples so I substituted with half an apple.

20120519-204847.jpg

Before I added the spinach.

20120519-204936.jpg

Before, as a solid.

20120519-205019.jpg

After, as a liquid.

20120519-205141.jpg

Worked well with the apple. I was surprised when I first tried this smoothie with my cousin cause it involved spinach, even though I like spinach, I just thought it was weird in a smoothie, but it was very good. Maybe next time I can add more nutritional and filling ingredients like ground flax seed and whey powder.

Smoothie:
• Around 8 ice cubes
• 1 large banana (I used 2 medium)
• Half a pear (I used half an apple)
• A splash of water
• 2 handfuls of spinach

Directions:
Add ice cubes, fruit and water into blender then add the spinach and blend until it’s a smooth consistency. Pour yourself a glass and drink up!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

