Red Velvet Birthday Cupcakes!

Today the 25th is my aunt’s birthday and her favorite color is red, so I decided to make red velvet cupcakes.

20120525-180059.jpg

Made 12 standard size for her birthday party and 23 mini for Memorial day weekend.

20120525-180257.jpg

20120525-180315.jpg

Since I have 3 birthdays this weekend and had to make 3 different flavor cupcakes, making this one out of a box would be easier since I already had a cake mix of red velvet. I found a recipe online that uses a cake mix to make it taste like it didn’t come from a box.

20120525-180718.jpg

From the dry cake mix it looked brown, like regular chocolate cake, but when I added the wet ingredients it turned red. I had never used a red velvet cake mix, so I didn’t know this. Came out pretty!

20120525-181026.jpg

Lookin’ gooood 😉

20120525-181136.jpg

These are the 23 mini cupcakes. I used a can of cream cheese frosting I had because I didn’t have any cream cheese to make my own and I needed to use up that can. It was Betty Crocker’s fluffy cream cheese frosting which are less sweet.

20120525-181924.jpg

The mini cupcakes haven’t gone patriotic yet. They will on Sunday 🙂

Ingredients:

• 1 (18.25 oz.) box red velvet cake mix
• 1 cup buttermilk
• 1/2 cup vegetable or canola oil
• 4 eggs

Method:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line 24 baking cups with paper liners.

Add the first three ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Beat with an electric mixer on low to medium speed until moistened, about 30 seconds. Add eggs one at a time, until the batter is well-mixed. Increase speed to high and beat until thick, 2 minutes longer.

Pour or scoop the batter into the paper liners until they are 3/4 full. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Remove from oven and let cupcakes cool on a wire rack.

Adapted from gimmesomeoven.com

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

