Orange Mango Cake Balls

Yesterday the 13 was my aunt’s dog’s birthday, Jordan and she decided to throw him a party. I’m taking a break from oven baking so I decided to use my cake pop machine to make the treats.

20120614-182053.jpg

I was looking for a recipe for 6 cupcakes to turn them into cake pops, I found one for 6 mini cupcakes, but they were vanilla. I couldn’t find another recipe for that little cupcakes so I used that one and altered it to make it more summer.

20120613-214418.jpg

I made two batches and ended up with 27 cake balls. Some for the party and some for my friends.

20120613-214706.jpg

Not that round, but close enough.

20120613-214743.jpg

I left them cooling in their tray while I made the icing.

20120613-214903.jpg

Here I was dipping them in the icing. For the party I only dipped them halfway which was 9.

20120614-180948.jpg

They were a big hit, everyone wanted more. Should’ve brought more because I had plenty, but that’s all that fit in the container I brought them in.

20120614-181721.jpg

I dipped some more today to give to my other aunt who was working that night. This time I dipped them all the way and put them in red mini liners. I drizzled a little bit more on top.

20120613-214307.jpgMy aunt loved them so much, she ordered 20 for a work thing the next day. I was experimenting and they came out good.

Orange Mango Cake Balls

• 1 egg white

• 2 tablespoons sugar

• 2 tablespoons butter, melted

• 2 teaspoons orange mango juice ( I used simply orange with mango)

• 1/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour

• 1/4 heaping teaspoon of baking powder

• pinch of salt

• 1 1/2 tablespoons milk

Directions

This is enough for 6 mini cupcakes.

In a glass mixing bowl, melt your butter until just soft, add egg white, sugar and juice whisk until well combined. Add flour, baking powder and salt, whisk until smooth, stir in milk. Spray cake ball machine with non-stick spray and divide batter equally between domes. Machine will tell you when they are ready. If you are baking them, set the oven at 350 degrees and bake for 10-12 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Somewhat adapted from the artsy kitchen

Orange Icing

Ingredients

• 1 1/2 T butter, melted
• 1 1/4 cup powdered sugar
• Juice squeezed from 1/2 an orange (I used 6 tbsp of simply orange with mango)

Directions

1. Combine melted butter and 3/4 cup powdered sugar and mix with a hand mixer until combined.
2. Add juice and mix until no longer lumpy.
3. Add remaining 1/2 cup of powdered sugar 1/4 cup at a time mixing between additions.
4. Dip cake ball.

Adapted from take a megabite

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

