Homemade Caramel Chews

I was making dulce de leche yogurt pies and wanted to add caramel in the pies and drizzled on top. I decided I would make it myself, the only ingredient not in my pantry was sweetened condensed milk.

20121009-112839.jpg

20121009-113050.jpg
Mixing my ingredients then stirring every minute after heating in the microwave. Burnt my finger multiple times when scraping the caramel off the spatula, I guess I need to develop tough skin to be in this business. I’ve gotten burned so many times I’m getting used to it 😊

20121009-113611.jpg
Sprayed an 8×8 pan with non-stick and poured the caramel, then put it in the fridge.

20121009-113855.jpg

I started cutting them and they started to melt and get all sticky since the kitchen has no air and we have a lot of humidity here, so I had to continue in my room with the air. Took awhile to cut, separate, cut wax paper and wrap them all, but was worth it. Love the rustic looking packaging, very homemade. It’s exciting that I’m expanding and can now make candy!

Ingredients (I halved everything)
1/2 c. butter
1 (4 oz.) c. chopped walnuts or pecans
1/2 c. light corn syrup
1/2 can sweetened condensed milk, about 3/4 c.
1 c. packed light or dark brown sugar
1/2 tsp. vanilla

Directions
Generously butter bottom of an 8 inch square micro-safe baking pan. Put remaining butter and corn syrup in a 2 quart micro-safe bowl (or other deep sided micro-safe container). Microwave at HIGH power for 2 minutes or until butter melts. Add condensed milk, brown sugar, and vanilla. Stir to smoothly blend. Microwave at MEDIUM power for 8-10 minutes, stirring well every minute or so, until mixture has a thick, caramel consistency (I did it for just 5 minutes). Pour into pan and let cool at least 2 hours before putting in the fridge.

Cooks.com

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

