Marble Dome Cake

I had another order for a birthday cake, marble and 2 dozen peppermint cake balls for this past Monday. Since I had a previous order for peppermint cake balls, I used up all the chocolates for the coating and had no ride to go buy some and then the pick up was moved for 4:15pm instead of 6pm like before. I had no choice, but to go walking to Walgreens for the chocolates which was 30 minutes to and from so that was an hour lost. I managed to make it all in time 🙂

20121220-121136.jpg

20121220-205329.jpg

This was my first marble cake, but when the order was placed, I had recently seen how to do the swirls. I added less cocoa powder to about half of the batter than the recipe called for and had leftover batter for four chocolate cupcakes.

20121220-210453.jpg

They came out very dome like as well.

20121220-210809.jpg

20121220-210838.jpg

Placed a dozen per box. My cousin gave them to me just in time.

20121220-211211.jpg

I kept two and the other two as samples to a potential big client. I also gave some peppermint cake balls as samples, I kept 4. The cupcakes were good, not too chocolately which is how I like it. The dome was a little large, could barely take a bite.

20121220-211700.jpg

20121220-211800.jpg

Love my cake boxes, makes me look more professional, with my labels too.

Ingredients
• 1 cup unsalted butter (2 sticks), plus more for the pan
• 2 cups sugar (used 1 3/4 cups)
• 4 large eggs (used 2 whole eggs and 2 eggs whites)
• 1 cup milk (used almond milk)
• 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
• 2 1/2 cups flour, plus more for the pan
• 2 teaspoons baking powder
• Pinch salt (used Himalayan pink salt)
• 3 tablespoons cocoa powder, sifted
• 1 cup shredded coconut (I omitted this)

Directions
1. Butter and flour a straight-walled 10-inch tube pan. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
2. In a standing mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter until light and fluffy. Add the sugar and continue to mix well. Add the eggs 1 at a time and beat until incorporated.
3. In a bowl, whisk together the milk and vanilla. In another bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt.
4. Reduce the mixer’s speed to low.
5. Alternately add the flour and milk mixture until a smooth batter is formed. 6. Continue mixing for 5 minutes. (It’s important to mix for the full 5 minutes.)
7. Transfer 1/3 of the batter to a bowl and whisk in the cocoa powder. Stir the coconut into the remaining batter.
8. Pour the coconut batter into the pan; then spoon the chocolate batter around. Run a knife through the batter, cutting the batters together to create a marbled effect. (Do not stir.) Bake until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean, about 1 hour 15 minutes.

Adapted from foodnetwork.com

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

