New Years Eve Sparkling Cupcakes

For New Years I wanted to make some champagne cupcakes, but all I found in my fridge was a bottle of prosecco sparkling wine so I used that.

20130101-103339.jpg

20130101-104047.jpg

I had a recipe for 6 mini cupcakes which I play up. I doubled the recipe and made 17 total.

20130101-104414.jpg

Since my standard size cupcake maker is set to arrive tomorrow the 2nd, I made the whole frosting recipe to frost those other cupcakes I will make.

20130101-105345.jpg

I had frosted them, but they weren’t festive enough, wish I had pearls or gold flecks to add to them, but I used what I had which was multi colored sprinkles. My friend helped me add them and she dropped a lot of them 😛

20130101-105727.jpg

They looked more for a kids party than for New Years, but it was better than nothing. We added some peppermint kisses to 2 cupcakes, not bad.

Original recipe:

• 1 egg white

• 2 tablespoons sugar

• 2 tablespoons butter, melted

• 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

• contents of 1/2 vanilla bean (if you don’t have this, just use a whole tsp. vanilla extract instead of a half)

• 1/4 cup unbleached all purpose flour

• 1/4 heaping teaspoon of baking powder

• pinch of salt

• 1 1/2 tablespoons milk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a mini muffin tin with 6 liners, or a regular sized muffin tin with 2 liners.

In a glass mixing bowl, melt your butter until just soft, add egg white, sugar and vanilla extract whisk until well combined, scrape contents of vanilla bean and whisk again. Add flour, baking powder and salt, whisk until smooth, stir in milk. Divide batter equally between cupcake liners. Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Allow to cool completely before adding the frosting.

Adapted somewhat from theartsykitchen.com

20130101-111234.jpg

Happy New Year! Cheers!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “New Years Eve Sparkling Cupcakes

  1. […] ← New Years Eve Sparkling Cupcakes […]

  2. Dulce de Leche Cupcakes « Yum Rum Sweets January 5, 2013 at 11:50 am Reply

    […] Original recipe […]

  3. Valentine Flavor Cupcakes « Yum Rum Sweets February 18, 2013 at 2:33 pm Reply

    […] vanilla cupcake recipe Vegan strawberry cupcakes […]

Leave a Reply

