Coconut Pancakes and Mini Pies

I was in the mood for some coconut pancakes, so I went online searching for coconut pancake recipes, but had no luck finding one. I just got a regular pancake recipe and turned it into coconut pancakes.

image

image

I got about 9 pancakes.

image

I added a dollop of coconut frosting on top to make it presentable. Also had it with some scrambled egg whites.

image

Ingredients
• 1 cup flour
• 1 tablespoon sugar (I used organic cane sugar)
• 2 tablespoons baking powder
• 1/8 teaspoon salt
• 1 cup soymilk (used almond milk)
• 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
• 1/2 cup cream of coconut
• unsweetened coconut flakes (optional)

Directions:
1. Set out all your ingredients.
2. Set a stove element with a pan to medium heat.
3. Combine the 4 dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder — two Tablespoons, not two Teaspoons as some have suggested, salt) in a bowl.
4. Add the soy milk, vegetable oil and cream of coconut to your mixture.
5. Mix until smooth.
6. Now the pan should be ready for your batter, so spoon one pancakes’ worth of the mixture into the pan. While cooking I added the coconut flakes, then flipped.
7. Flip [carefully] when you see bubbles in the middle of the pancake, or if the edges are looking stiffened.
8. Repeat until the batter is gone, and try not to eat them all while you’re cooking them.

Adapted some from food.com

I went on a free one day cruise to the Bahamas with some friends a few days before the Nicaragua trip.

image

image

I had plenty of leftover frosting, many mini pie shells and I was leaving to Nicaragua for 6 weeks. I made two dulce de leche and eight coconut.

image

image

image

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

