Vegan Thanksgiving Cookies

Well I hope you all enjoyed your thanksgiving! This was my first thanksgiving in New York and my first vegan one as well. My neighbor/family member and her husband were having a potluck thanksgiving, I finally decided what to make and bring the day before. I had a recipe for vegan maple pumpkin donuts, but would make them into cookies. I searched the kitchen and the only ingredients I needed to buy were pumpkin puree and nutmeg. I went to the local supermarket on thanksgiving day and only bought the puree because that nutmeg was too expensive, luckily I actually found real nutmeg in the pantry.

image

This was the real nutmeg I found, the one you have to grind, I had always wanted to do this.

image

I used gluten free flour from the same brand as the pizza crust, namaste.

image

image

Mixed the oil, maple syrup, salt, spices, baking powder and pumpkin puree. Smelled amazing!

image

My cousin has whoopie pie pans and that’s where I decided to make the cookies, I was able to make nine.

image

image
It was dinner time and there was more food than there were people, but it was all good.

image
It was dessert time and almost all the guests brought one. Chocolate cake, pumpkin pie and my cookies, all dishes featured pumpkin.

image
Everyone loved the cookies, they were a hit. I still have pumpkin puree to make another batch.

image

Vegan Maple Pumpkin Donuts (6)
• 1/4 cup vegetable oil (I used safflower oil)
• 1/2 cup maple syrup
• 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
• 1/2 tsp cinnamon
• 1/4 tsp ginger and nutmeg
• 1/2 tsp salt (used Himalayan salt)
• 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
• 3/4 cup + 2 tbsp all purpose flour, sifted (I used gluten free flour blend)

Preheat oven to 350ºF. Lightly grease pan.
In a small bowl combine oil, maple syrup, pumpkin puree, spices, salt and baking powder. Whisk together until smooth.
Add sifted flour and mix to combine. Do not overmix, you do not want the gluten to develop (in my case it was fine since I had gluten free flour).
Evenly spoon batter, it shoulf be nearly to top. Smooth tops and place in oven.
Bake for 15-18 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
Muffins bake for 25-30 minutes.

Adapted from thesweetlifeonline.com

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Vegan Thanksgiving Cookies

  1. Vegan Maple Nut Cookies | Yum Rum Sweets January 13, 2014 at 1:19 pm Reply

    […] Original vegan maple pumpkin recipe […]

Leave a Reply

